Fly

Being a rainy sort of a day, we trekked through Oaks Bottom on the lookout for mushrooms. After stumbling down a dead end path, I screamed when I noticed a monster amanita just lying there, all fat and orange, marooned on a fallen log. Totally disconnected, it appeared fresh and perfect…Recently abandoned? But by whom? A faint cloak of cigarettes lingered in the crisp autumn air, though I didn’t see a soul. Aside from the falling raindrops, nothing seemed to be moving. A true mystery…perhaps a leprechaun left it. Unfortunately, my husband forbid further investigation.

fly agarics in Oregon

I didn’t bring a camera with me, but I found this picture on the internet. In person this mushroom looks absolutely like one from wonderland. Today’s discovery left me curious.

Leave a Reply

